In this article
Files are super easy to upload, organize, and manage in each BuildBook project.
There's no limit to what you can upload, from the construction agreement you have with your client to plans, drawings, or inspirational pics. Store anything here that will help your team and client have access to all the information they need during the course of the project.
Note: You can upload as many photos and documents as you'd like, however the maximum amount per upload would be 10 photos and/or documents.
By default, files are visible to your Pro Team members and any collaborators you add. You can choose to share files with clients.
In your Files tab either click "Upload Files" and upload from your device - or simply drag and drop the file you want to upload.
Organize your files with folders by clicking "New Folder" and adding as many folders as you need.
Easily move files into different folders by dragging and dropping them. Files are automatically sorted by the date they were last updated. If you want to move a file out of a folder, just drag it to the "Up a Level" link inside the folder.
List View vs. Grid View
In the upper right, click the List View dropdown to switch to Grid View, which allows you to see folders and files in a different layout.
In Grid View you can also sort by Name, Created, File Type, and Shared.
To the right of each file and file folder is a menu with three dots that will give you the option to do a few things with files:
Download: download files to your device
Rename: easily give files or folders new names
Share with Client
Share with Limited Files Users
Trash: delete unwanted files. Trashed files are relocated to the Deleted Files folder, where you can permanently delete them if you need to. You can access deleted files by clicking the menu to the right of the List View/Grid View dropdown and click "Show Deleted."
File types that are viewable (PDFs, images) can also be previewed by simply clicking on the file name and opening the item. You can download a file from the preview by clicking the three dots in the upper right and clicking Download.
By default, files and folders are only visible to project members with access to Everything in Files permissions.
In order for Files to be shared with any other user (clients, team members, or collaborators), you must first provide them with Limited Files access in your Project Settings. From there, you still need to then grant them access to the file or folder from the Files tab.
For clients, you can choose to hide the Files tab completely. In order for them to see any files, they need to first have access to Files in the project Settings. Then access is granted per folder/file.
To share a file or folder with a Limited File User or a Client with whom you have allowed access to the Files tab, click the ••• menu, and choose "Share with Client" or "Share with Limited File Users."
A green icon appears next to the file or folder, letting you know who can see it
Note: If you share a folder, everything in that folder is also shared.
We recommend creating folders for your Client or Limited File Users and uploading all files you'd like to share with each role inside of it.