All Collections
Getting Started With BuildBook
Roles and Permissions in BuildBook
Roles and Permissions in BuildBook

Learn about the different BuildBook plans, user types, and permissions

Updated over a week ago

One of the most desired benefits of BuildBook is the ability to bring everyone together in one place—before, during, and after projects. Who a team owner can invite to their account will first depend on which plan they have.

Plans

  • Free: One user who is also the account owner. Free accounts do not have access to Projects or Estimates.

  • Solo: One user who is also the account owner with unlimited external user project invitations.

  • Team: 2-5 Pro Team invites including the account owner, with unlimited external user project invitations.

  • Business: 6-8 Pro Team invites including the account owner, with unlimited external user project invitations.


User Roles

Each user in a BuildBook account will fit into one of three roles within what we call the "Pro Team." Note: External Users can only be invited to projects in a Paid Plan.

  • Account Owner: The person who set up the company's BuildBook account and has full ownership of the account.

  • Pro Team Admin: Part of the Pro Team with full access to all account features including Projects, Portfolio, Collections, Opportunities, Estimates, Proposals, and Contacts. Admins cannot edit plan and billing info. They are likely an employee or trusted confidant of your company.

  • Pro Team Member: Part of the Pro Team with limited access to the BuildBook account. Pro Team Members have access to Projects, Collections, and Contacts. They do not have access to Opportunities, Estimates, Proposals, or Portfolio.


Project Permissions

Permissions are granted on a project-by-project basis. Three types of users can be invited to a project:

  • Pro Team Members

  • Project Collaborators: Anyone who is involved in one or more projects, but is not part of the internal company team (sub-contractors, vendors, designers, architects, etc.). They are invited on a per-project basis with different levels of access, as outlined below.

  • Clients: Clients are invited on a per-project basis.

Pro Team and Collaborators

Pro Team Members and Collaborators share the same set of permissions with one exception, which allows Pro Team members to manage Project Settings.

Each user has a set of permissions levels to select from underneath their name and email in the Project Settings.

There is a range of options to give Pro Team Members and Collaborators access to everything or limit access to read and comment only for specific features.

Everything

Limited

No Access

Chat

Everything (Team and Client Chat)

Team Chat Only

_

Daily Logs

Everything (read, comment, create, edit, delete, and share with clients)

Read, Comment, and Create (delete their own logs, cannot share with client, cannot export)

_

Tasks*

Everything (read, comment, create, edit, delete, and share with clients)

Read and Comment Only (cannot share with client/public link, cannot export)

Read and Comment only on Assigned (can only see the Tasks that are assigned to them.)

Tab is hidden

Schedule

To have access to "Everything" in the Schedule, users must also have "Everything" selected for Selections, Tasks, and Financials.

Everything (Gantt Chart and Calendar View access to read, comment, create, edit, delete, and export)

Read and Comment Only (No access to the Gantt Chart with read and comment-only view of the Calendar.)

Tab is hidden

Financials*

Everything (read, comment, create, edit, and delete)

Read and Comment Only (cannot export)

Tab is hidden

Selections*

Everything (read, comment, create, edit, delete, and share with a public link)

Read and Comment Only (cannot share or export)

Tab is hidden

Files

Everything (upload, download, view, rename, delete, and share)

Limited Files (read and download files shared with them)

_

Manage Project

All other features must be set to "Everything" access in order to grant access to Manage Project

Yes (access and edit the Project Settings tab.)

No (Settings tab is hidden)

_

_

*Downgrading these permissions will automatically update Schedule permissions to "Read and Comment Only."


Client Permissions

Clients have one dropdown that controls the permissions for all clients on a project.

Client permissions are tab-based so that the following features can be disabled and/or enabled at any time:

  • Updates: Daily Logs you've chosen to share with the client

  • Schedule: Calendar view of the Schedule

  • Chat: Client chat only

  • Tasks: Tasks you've chosen to share with the client

  • Financials: When budget is selected, there are additional client visibility settings you can choose from within the Financials tab

  • Selections

  • Files: Files you've chosen to share with the client, or files they've uploaded


Next up

Did this answer your question?